The G7 countries have introduced new sanctions against Russia.

On May 19, the US announced a new large-scale package of sanctions, which includes more than 300 companies, individuals, ships, and aircraft. The purpose of these restrictions is to make it impossible for the Russian Federation to circumvent sanctions. The Canadian government has imposed sanctions against members of the Kremlin elite, defense companies and organizations, and individuals involved in the deportation of Ukrainian children to Russia. Australia also introduced new financial sanctions against 21 organizations and three individuals, including Rosneft, subsidiaries of Rosatom, and banks operating in the Russian Federation. The UK announced a new package of sanctions, including 86 companies and individuals. The sanctions will affect the Russian economy’s energy, metallurgical, military, transport, and financial sectors. In addition, British Prime Minister Rishi Sunak announced a ban on importing Russian diamonds, copper, aluminum, and nickel. As part of strengthening sanctions, the Japanese authorities will ban providing services in the construction and engineering industries to Russia. Tokyo will also add 100 people to the sanctions list for circumventing the sanctions and ban the supply of goods to approximately 80 organizations associated with the Russian military.


Ukraine War 24

Ukraine War 24

Read Previous

After meeting with Zelenskyy, Biden announced a $375M military aid package.

Read Next

At the G7 meeting, Zelenskyy announced the first Peace Formula summit.